Wednesday, May 20, 2015

V/A - Westside: Best Of (Import CD / 2004)

01 Axodry - Feel It Right 3:58
02 Two Of China - Telk Me 4:44
03 Curare - Visions & Dreams 6:48
04 Moskwa TV - Techno Talk (Bombing Mix) 6:34
05 Moskwa TV - Generator 7/8 6:20
06 MCL - Communicate (Bonus Mix) 2:35
07 Orient Affair - Classic Dance 5:57
08 Central Unit - Computer Music 5:12
09 Voyou - Houseman 3:26
10 Okay - O.K. 3:40
11 Camouflage - The Great Commandment 5:30
12 Deborah Sasson & MCL - Danger In Her Eyes 3:58
13 Oh Well - Oh Well 3:52
14 Celebrate The Nun - Will You Be There 3:30
15 Dux Dux - This Is A Sound 3:36
16 MCL - Don't Blame It On The Samba 3:35

I have previously posted some Westside Records in their 12 inch form. What we have today is the lovely German 20th Anniversary compilation CD. It's a superb crosscut of the labels pressings from 1984 through 1990. There are a couple keys pieces on here, not to mention edits of the greats. I would have preferred a box set with all the releases or at least a double CD with full on 12 inch mixes, but hey...I bought it anyway. The liner notes are in German so good luck reading it if you aren't versed in Deutch. The better inclusion here (in the liner notes) is the complete catlogue of releases. I have photocopied the entire release for your 'complete' interest. The recording is directly from the CD. Enjoy!

Westside Best Of: 1984-1990

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

The J.A.M.M.S. / KLF - Shag Times (Import CD / 1989)

01 All You Need Is Love 5:01
02 Don't Take Five (Take What You Want) 4:06
03 Whitney Joins The JAMS 7:09
04 Downtown 4:28
05 Candyman 3:28
06 Burn The Bastards 6:30
07 Doctorin' The Tardis 3:37
08 Whitney Joins The JAMS (Remix) 6:38
09 I Love Disco 2000 5:29
10 Downtown (Remix) 6:30
11 Burn The Beat (Club Mix) 4:58
12 Prestwich Prophet's Grin 4:17
13 The Porpoise Song (Instrumental Remix) 5:14
14 Doctorin' The Tardis (Minimal) 4:32

Here's the other early release I was talking about in my previous JAMMS/KLF post. I find this one to be a bit more cohesive as an entire CD. It was/is still a very rare and expensive CD. It includes the 'Whitney Joins The Jams' and 'All You Need Is Love', which the band was sued over regarding full on sample stealing! 'Burn The Beat' and 'I Love Disco 2000' I have on 12 inch singles...somewhere. Most recognizable will be the moderate to heavily played club hit 'Doctorin' The Tardis'. There are two versions here, both are a great listen compared with the 1988 glossy double 12 inch releases featuring Gary Glitter and 'Ford'. Either way, if you don't know this, now you will. It's a fine example of where the boys were headed to in future releases.

Doctor: Who

Wednesday, May 6, 2015

The J.A.M.M.S. / KLF - 1987 (Import CD / 1987)

01 Me Ru Con 2:27
02 The Queen And I 4:46
03 All You Need Is Love 7:44
04 Next 7:14
05 Hey, Hey We Are Not The Monkees 6:08
06 Don't Take Five (Take What You Want) 5:08
07 Rockman Rock (Parts 2 & 3) 7:13

Some early KLF here today, when the boys were running around as the sample stealing hooligans of the UK under the name of The J.A.M.M.S. This is an acquired listening, as it is not smooth, but often just a radical and straight up rip off of tracks and back beat. Obviously the controversy did them well. It shed light on the subject of sample stealing, which to this day is so blatantly used in many of the current R&B / Top 40 U.S. hits. I was never a fan of early JAMMS material, but it is a testament of what was to come...and quite honestly, they (the CD's or vinyl) are usually expensive to come by or were at one point. On another level, this is just a place holder and a novel addition to my blog. I do have another JAMMS release to post as well! The real posts, the ones I was referring to a few days ago on the facebook site...yeah, they are coming up! Thanks all, enjoy!

Just a quick update to this post. About two weeks ago I sold this actual CD to a UK buyer. It was purchased via the discogs site. Here's how the buyer received it. I'm uncertain if I can claim that it was the U.S. Post or the U.K. Post that is responsible. Just sad....

Justified Ancients Of: Mu Mu