Monday, August 25, 2014

Luc Van Acker - Luc Van Acker (The Ship) (LP / 1986)

01) The Ship 3:51
02) Rain 4:37
03) Zanna 3:06
04) Heart And Soul 4:16
05) Feels Like Love 3:51
06) Wild And Angry 3:51
07) Keep Talking 4:25
08) Wildlife 3:34

Another slab of good ole Wax Trax! Records (WAX 015). This is a twisted funky alternative. Luc Van Acker went on to bigger fame following this solo record (actually recorded in 1984). When listening to the B-Side, the last four tracks, you can hear the beginning sounds of what was to become The Revolting Cocks. All art and recordings were taken directly from this original LP. All the photos were shared to the Discogs website.

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

A Popular History Of Signs - A Popular History Of Signs (EP) (US 12 Inch / 1984)

01) Ladder Jack 5:07
02) House 3:37
03) If She Was A Car 5:17
04) Stigma 4:32

A Popular History Of Signs was Chicago based Wax Trax! Records fifth release from 1984 (WAX 005). It's a four track EP featuring Andy Jarman on Vocals & Bass, Peter Scammell on Synth & Guitar, Christine Isherwood singing Backing Vocals, Paul Clark on Percussion, John Lucibello on Drums and Andy Smith on Guitar. The first two tracks were produced by none other than Al Jourgensen of 'Ministry' fame.

The first few tracks have that early Wax Trax! / Ministry feel, but the vocals recall a somber David Byrne vocal style similar to some of the early Talking Heads releases. As for the third and fourth tracks, cue up any early Joy Division! Again, the vocals feel early David Byrne (in my opinion) or Ian Curtis if you stretch it a bit. Not a bad listen at all. I really only have it in my collection because it is an early Wax Trax! release. All recordings and art were taken from this 12 inch. All the art I reworked, has been shared to the Discogs site as well. 

A Popular History Of: Signs

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

V/A - Trance Europe Express 4 (UK 2 CD / 1995)

My continuation of previous V/A posts. The UK Volume Series stepped into the Ambient / Techno world for several releases. As were all the previous issues, this too, had a large 192 page booklet all about the artists involved. The Ambient / Techno Series generally was a two CD package. This allowed the listener to hear the full length tracks by the artists. I've begun with Vol. 4 per request. 

Betty Boo - Doin' The Do / Shame (US CDS / 1990)

01) Single Mix 3:40
02) The Good Do-Bee Mix 6:32
03) Doin' The Wop Mix 6:42
04) Beatmasters Club Mix 6:15
05) Shame (Hoodlum Mix) 4:25
06) Damned If You Do Mix 6:52
07) Damned If You Dub Mix 5:57
08) King John Mix 6:45
09) Shame (Single Version) 3:27

It's Me Again, Yes How Did You Guess...Betty Boo: Doin' The Do (New Link 2-28-15)

Sunday, August 3, 2014

Soho - Hippychick (CDS / 1990)

01) Extended Mix 4:35
02) No Acid Ted Mix 5:10
03) Never Trust A Hippy Mix 4:45
04) Happiness Is A Warm Hippy Mix 4:30
05) Dub Plate Instrumental 5:14

The Song With That "How Soon Is Now' Sample: Hippychick