Friday, January 24, 2014

Alphaville - Big In Japan (US 12 Inch / 1984)

01) Big In Japan (Extended Vocal) 7:06
02) Big In Japan (Instrumental Version) 5:57
03) Big In Japan (7 Inch Version) 3:49

So I have been sitting on this 12 inch for quite some time and have been wanting to post it. You can find it in a million other places and there are tracks scattered about on way too many other compilations. The issue I've had thus far is that I can't seem to find the right balance of sound with any other versions. Some are amplified off the scale, others are recorded on a child's phonograph and still others are equalized terribly. When in doubt...DIY! I've said this before with other posts I've made and I'm saying it again! Don't get me wrong, I have about 2 gigs of Alphaville tracks to work with, but in the end, it comes down to taking the recordings from the original 30 year old vinyl.
Neon On My Naked Skin, Passing Silhouettes....Big In Japan

The Other Ones - Holiday (US Promo 12 Inch / 1987)

01) Holiday (7 Inch Remix) 3:41
02) Holiday (LP Version) 3:32
03) Holiday (12 Inch Remix) 5:58

Holler Ho, Holler Hey, Another: Holiday 

Friday, January 17, 2014

Moskwa TV - Generator 7/8 (Import 12 Inch / 1985)


01) Generator 7/8 (Energetic Mix) 6:26
02) Generator 7/8 (Godzilla Mix) 6:36


These sounds opened up the whole idea of what European techno was to become. The U.S. had Detroit at the time, while Europe was all about Germany. The combination of PPG Wave synths, Akai samplers, Moog synths, Roland (Jupiter 8 & MKS 80) and Yamaha DX-7 equipment, all laid the ground work. Talla 2 XLC was just beginning.

All art and recordings are taken from this original 12 inch

You Better Pray To Heaven's Gate: Generator 7/8

Alison Moyet - Ordinary Girl (UK 12 Inch / 1987)

01) Ordinary Girl (Remix) 5:37
02) Ordinary Girl (Single Version) 3:22
03) Palm Of Your Hand (Cloak And Dagger) 3:53

Thanks to Steen for requesting this and special thanks to my friend Craig, who is storing his complete record collection with me. This recording and the art is from his original 12 inch.
Ordinary: Girl

Grace Jones - I'm Not Perfect (But I'm Perfect For You) (US 12 Inch / 1986)

01) I'm Not Perfect (But I'm Perfect For You) (Perfectly Extended remix) 5:56
02) I'm Not Perfect (But I'm Perfect For You) (Instrumental Version) 5:00
03) Scary But Fun 3:54
04) I'm Not Perfect (But I'm Perfect For You) (LP Version) 3:57


I'm Not Perfect (But I'm Perfect For You): Right On Time

Monday, January 13, 2014

The Suburbs - Love Is The Law (US Promo 12 Inch / 1983)

01) Love Is The Law (Dance Version) 6:17
02) Love Is The Law 4:40
03) Monster Man 3:14

I recently aquired this from my good friend Scott Mueller who resides in Minneapolis. I just want to thank him for lending it to me for blogging purposes. I unfortunately have to return!
The Dance version was taken from the actual promo record, as was all the art. The other two tracks were taken from the 2002 CD Remaster release of 1984's 'Love Is The Law'.

Love Is The: Law (Re-Up 3/25/17)

Thursday, January 9, 2014

Sabrina - Boys (Summertime Love) (US 12 Inch / 1988)

01) Boys (Summertime Love) (12 Inch Version) 7:04
02) Boys (Summertime Love) (7 Inch Version) 3:44
03) Boys (Summertime Love) (Summertime Mix) 5:40
04) Boys (Summertime Love) (Dub) 5:35
05) Get Ready (Holiday Rock) 3:20

My goal was to put this up a few days ago when most of the U.S. was still wrapped up in the 'Polar Vortex' of arctic temperatures. This 12 inch certainly would have warmed most 'Boys' up. It reminds me of Summer anyway and the video, with it's 3 million + hits and counting, is all about swimming pools, bikinis and Sabrina's obviousness'. Italo Disco/ Euro-Pop at it's cheesiest is what it's suppossed to be.
All art and recordings are directly from the 12 Inch.
Boys (Summertime Love):  Times 2

Monday, January 6, 2014

Colourbox - Punch (UK 12 Inch / 1984)

01) Punch (Extended Version) 5:41
02) Keep On Pushing 3:46
03) Shadows In The Room 4:57
04) Punch (7 Inch Version) 3:40
05) Keep On Pushing (EP Version) 5:14
06) Punch (BBC Session) 3:49

I recently purchased this 12 inch through eBay. It was inexpensive and a quite bit cheaper than selecting from the Discogs Site and paying the outrageous international shipping charges. I have to say that the ONLY reason I bought it was to document the art and then seal it up for my 4 A.D. collection. All art is from the 12 Inch. All the recordings, plus bonus material, were taken from the recently released 2012 (4) CD Colourbox Box Set.

Aneka - Japanese Boy (US Promo Double A Side 12 Inch / 1981)

01) Japanese Boy 3:55
02) Japanese Boy (Maxi Version) 6:39

A bit of early Italo-Disco for today's post. This actually is a lead up to what will be posted tomorrow. If you like this genre, then you will probably love tomorrow's post too.
With all the 80's music I grew up with and loved over the years, this track eluded me. I have to say that the first time I ever heard it was on the PS2 video game ' Grand Theft Auto'. I don't recall which version of the game, but it was played in rotation on one of the 6 or 7 radio stations you could tune into while playing the game.
All art is from the 12 inch. The tracks are taken from the 2009 'Greatest Hits' CD remaster of her material.
Mister Can You Tell Me Where My Love Has Gone, He's A : Japanese Boy

Thursday, January 2, 2014

C.C.C.P. - Made In Russia (Import 12 Inch / 1987)

01) Made In Russia 6:58
02) Made In Russia (Instrumental) 6:58

I had this 12 inch back in 1989, hell, I had a boat load of 12 inches that I wish I would have kept. Nonetheless, I parted with it and then low and behold, I found another copy in San Diego...on the cheap too! Gotta love that. I nearly blurted out..'Fuck Yes' in the record store! I prefer the instrumental version. This record, along with any and all early Talla 2 XLC projects, were my palate of listening back then. I think I blew the speakers out in my '91 Nissan Pickup, playing this!  Enjoy.
Это CCCP! Сделано в России! : Russia

Wednesday, January 1, 2014

Propaganda - Dr. Mabuse (UK 12 Inch / 1984)

01) Das Testament des Mabuse 10:13
02) Femme Fatale (The Woman With The Orchid) 3:18
03) (The Ninth Life Of) Dr. Mabuse 4:08

Another excellent 12 inch from the original Propaganda lineup circa 1984.
This in fact, was the first recording I hade ever heard by them. It was on a club promo VHS video recording from the old Milwaukee VHS video producer 'Wolfram'!  Back then, getting your hands on one of these compilations was worth it's weight in gold!
All art is from my original 12 Inch. The recordings are taken from the 2012 CD release 'Noise & Girls (Come Out To Play)'. A Propaganda compilation.
Why Does it Hurt When My Heart Misses A: Beat (NL 10-8-14)