Tuesday, December 31, 2013

Modern English - Somebody's Calling (UK 12 Inch / 1983)

01) Someone's Calling (Remix) 3:43
02) Life In The Gladhouse (Remix) 4:57

So, I have been in the process of collecting anything and all that was early 4 A.D. recordings. This was spurred on by my recent acquisition and reading of the book 'Facing The Other Way: The Story of 4A.D.' by Martin Aston.
The remixes on this 12 inch may seem slightly shorter than those listed on Discogs, but I assure you they are the same. I cut the dead seconds at the beginning and end of each track...nothing is missing. All art is from the original 12 inch of mine.
 Oh Me, Oh My, Life In The: Gladhouse 

Monday, December 30, 2013

Thompson Twins - Doctor! Doctor! (UK 12 Inch / 1984)

01) Doctor! Doctor! (Extended Mix) 7:52
02) Nurse Shark 4:06

This is just the tip of the iceberg regarding my Thompson Twins collection of 12 inches. I can only think of one other person who could possibly beat me when it comes to the shear amount of TT in a collection (wink...wink...eLeMeNOhPeaQ).
All art is from my original vinyl. The recordings are in WAV format and are taken from the 2008 Edsel Deluxe 2 CD remaster of 'Into The Gap'.

Sunday, December 29, 2013

Shriekback - Hand On My Heart (UK 12 Inch / 1984)

01) Hand On My Heart 5:44
02) Suck 5:32
03) Nerve 2:42

This single is culled from the 'Jam Science' LP (1983). I recently picked this one up on my excursion to the west coast. I also found another EP by the band in the same dusty bin as this one. A nice find for my relatively small Shriekback collection. Anyway, all the art is from this 12 inch. The recordings are from the 1999 CD 'Priests And Kanibals : The Best Of Shriekback' I found that the clarity and punch of the CD recordings were better than what I took from the vinyl (IMO).
One further bit of information to clear things up. This version of 'Hand On My Heart' is the longer one. Not that it's an extended mix, but when 'Jam Science' was released, there were several issues that included the full length mix at 5:45 and others that included the edit at 3:55. I've seen other people post the 'extended' mix and as far as I know (or have researched), this is the only longer version out there. So, call it what you may.
It's Just Me, Putting My Hand On My: Heart 

Saturday, December 28, 2013

Sigue Sigue Sputnik - Success (US 12 Inch / 1988)

01) Success (12 Inch Dance Mix) 6:44
02) Success (7 Inch Mix) 3:51
03) Success (Funky Mix) 5:27
04) Success (Balaeracidic Mix) 6:02
05) Success (Micro-Dot Mix) 6:26
06) Success (Metal Hammer Mix) 4:44

Another 12 inch release from Sigue Sigue Sputnik ala 1988. This is a more refined S.S.S with a stab at mainstream 'success'. Perhaps after the 1986 release, some of the members actually learned to play their instruments. Either way, there are a slue of mixes here. I prefer the 12 Inch Dance and Metal Hammer Mixes. They remain closest to the original. All the other mixes are attempts to fit in with the 'Summer Of Love- Acid-Balaeric-Ibiza' sound of the time. The Funky Mix is good fun, including it's ample sample of Michael Douglas from the movie 'Wall Street'

All the mixes and photos are from this original 12 inch.
Luxury Giving Me, Nothing More And Nothing Less Than:  Success 

Friday, December 27, 2013

Edelweiss - Bring Me Edelweiss (US 12 Inch - UK CDS / 1988)

US 12 Inch
01) Bring Me Edelweiss (Vocal Version) 9:11
02) Bring Me Edelweiss (Rap Version) 5:42
03) Bring Me Edelweiss (Tourist Version) 7:43
04) Bring Me Edelweiss (Yodel Version) 4:59
05) Bring Me Edelweiss (Single Version) 3:40
06)  Bring Me Edelweiss (Alpengluhen Version) 1:15
07) Bring Me Edelweiss (Kitz-Stein-Horn Version) 4:07
08) Bring Me Edelweiss (Inzest House Version) 7:29
09) Bring Me Edelweiss (Ruck Zuck Version) 4:59
10) Bring Me Edelweiss (Schnaps Bonus beats) 2:43

Ibiza & The Summer Of Love were in full swing when this little lovely dropped in 1988.
It became an instant dance classic with enough 'versions' to choke the Edelweiss right out of you. All the classic samples are here, as well as the token original vocal rip that was all the rage of typical dance 12 inches of the time. Everything was owed to M/A/R/R/S' - 'Pump Up The Volume'.
I found this 12 inch out in San Diego recently ($3), although I had the original way back then too. The CDS was found in a cut-out bin of cheapos. I though I'd be kind and give you the whole lot of it. Happy Friday!
So When You Really Love Me, Darling Bring Me : Edelweiss

Thursday, December 26, 2013

Propaganda - Heaven Give Me Words (UK CDS / 1990)

01) Heaven Give Me Words (7" Single) 4:17
02) Heaven Give Me Words (Honey In Heaven) 8:08
03) Count Zero 3:57


04) Heaven Give Me Words (The Beat) 7:34
(Taken from The UK 12 Inch)  
This single is taken from the 1990 Propaganda release '1234'. Propaganda of the 90's had a new lead singer in Betsi Miller, following the departure of Claudia Brucken for a solo career. Additional departures from the original line up were Susan Freytag (vocals), Andreas Thein, Ralf Doerper & Michael Wertz. The only original member still involved was Michael Mertens (Keyboards) and some lyrical help from Doerper as well. A big change and a whole new sound!


Heaven Give Me: Words