Thursday, March 28, 2013

Kitchens Of Distinction - When In Heaven (UK CDS / 1992)

01) When In Heaven 5:26
02) Glittery Dust 4:39
03) Don't Come Back 3:35
04) Spacedolphins 5:06

Back in 1991-1992, this was one of my favourite bands outside the 'grunge' movement of the day. It had all the shoegaze noise-pop laden hooks & melodies that you could ever want and it was concocted by 3 band members. I was able to see them live back in 1995 at a small venue (The Unicorn) where about 70 people attended! It was perfect and deafening, plus I grabbed a photo (polaroid) op after the set!

Patrick Fitzgerald went on to form a solo project titled Stephen Hero. Stepehen Hero is now in the wings and work has begun on a new Kitchens Of Distinction release. Hopefully out sometime this year of 2013!
Here's a Facebook link that will take you where you'd like to go: Stephen Hero 

When In Heaven: New Link (7-10-15)

UPDATE: The new CD comes out 9/30/13!

Wednesday, March 6, 2013

The Jesus And Mary Chain - April Skies (US 12 Inch / 1987)

01) April Skies (Long Version) 4:00
02) Kill Surf City 3:12
03) Who Do You Love 4:04

Another fantastic find in my recently acquired (holding) collection of music from my long time friend. This 12 inch is in mint condition! It was screaming at me to post it and all the artwork. I didn't record from the 12 inch, but in fact took all the recordings from the 2011 Remaster version of 'Darklands'. That being said, the recordings are not at full 320 as I normally prefer. These are 260 and up VBR recordings. The quality is excellent despite this oversight.

Grace Jones - Party Girl (US 12 Inch / 1986)

01) Party Girl (Extended Remix) 7:22
02) Party Girl (Dub Version) 4:57
03) Party Girl (7 Inch Edit) 3:34

I recently picked up 3 moving boxes of 12"s and LP's from a friend of mine. I'm holding these for him (as I have plenty of space) during a transitional time and recording them to mp3 and for use in the blog. The variety and hard to find music is awesome and quite perfect for my postings! His first request was this lovely Grace Jones 12'er! Thanks again for everything Craig!

Are you coming? C'mon! I'm not waiting for you...any longer: Party Girl

Care - My Boyish Days (Drink To Me) (UK 12 Inch / 1983)

01) My Boyish Days (Drink To Me) 6:01
02) An Evening In The Ray 2:47
03) A Sad Day For England 4:26