Sunday, February 19, 2012

Falco - Der Kommissar (US 12 Inch) (1982) @320 w/ Art

01) Der Kommissar @ 3:50
02) Auf der Flucht @ 4:12
03) Helden von Heute @ 4:07

Thursday, February 16, 2012

Danse Society - Heaven Is Waiting (Promo 12 Inch) (1984) @320 w/ Art

01) Heaven Is Waiting (Extended Version) 5:26
02) Heaven Is Waiting (Album Version) 3:42
03) 2000 Light Years From Home 3:56

(5-11-17) New notes regarding this 12 Inch. All the recordings are from the original 12 inch of mine. The artwork was photographed and then cleaned up with paintshop. This is a long time ago before I had my HD scanner. Perhaps this should get a redo with HD scans and a flac recording! Ehh...we'll see. I have a bit more that I want to post by them down the road, so check back! Thanks all. Enjoy!

Heaven Is Waiting (5-11-17 Zippy Link)

Friday, February 10, 2012

Doctor & The Medics - Spirit In The Sky (US 12 Inch) (1986) @ 320 w/ Art

01) Spirit In The Sky @ 3:29
02) Miracle Of The Age @ 3:55
03) Laughing At The Pieces (Studio Version) @ 3:20)

So this track comes out of nowhere in 1986. A decent updated psychedelic garage rock take on Norman Greenbaum's 1970 classic. What throws everyone for a loop, besides the obvious 'Doors like' imagery on the back cover, is the out-f'in-rageous hair that the lead singer has. The video shows it in all it's foot and a half glory! Needless to say, the track became a staple in the underground nightclub circuit for several months. I personally took to the floor whenever I heard those opening notes!

I played this 12 inch to death back when I was DJing a popular Milwaukee 80's Retro night (1990-2008). This was before CD-R's and the availability of CD DJ equipment. YES, believe it or not, I DJ'ed with original slabs of 'vinyl' that often yielded the uncomfortable 'skip' or needle jump!

Spray the Aquanet and get your Spirit on:  download

Thursday, February 9, 2012

Sigue Sigue Sputnik - 21st Century Boy (UK 12 Inch) @ 320 w/ Art

01) 21st Century Boy (Extended TV Mix) @ 6:10
02) Buy EMI (4 Million Pound Mix) @ 7:25

At this point in time, The Sputnik Crew had really hit it off and were 'standing on top of the world' so to speak. After all, their last single 'Love Missile' became an instant underground club hit and was featured in the massive movie hit 'Ferris Bueller's Day Off'. Suprisingly, this 2nd 12 " release from the 'Flaunt It' LP, never reached Billboard's charts.

More midi-controlled chaos and random sampled noodlings:  download 

Sigue Sigue Sputnik - Love Missile F1-11 (UK 12 Inch) (1986) @ 320 w/ Art

01) Love Missile F1-11 (Extended Version- Ultraviolence) @ 6:54
02) Love Missile F1-11 (Dance Mix) @ 4:27
03) Hack Attack @ 3:50

"Sigue Sigue Sputnik are thrills
and excitement * glamour and
sex * hope and optimism.

The future is just beginning.
Get ready for the Fifth
Generation Of Rock 'n Roll!"

(As quoted from the 1986 Virgin Books 'Sigue Sigue Sputnik - Ultra'
A 24 pg. magazine style book of bio's & PR flash bombs that only the Sputnik's could have done.)

The logo used by SSS was ripped off from an early 80's unilateral urban guerilla movement in Europe.
'Euroterrorism' as it would be labeled. The original logo featured the star and a capitol letter 'C' on either side & in the centre. It stood for the 'Combattantes Communistes Cellules'. 

Fun music that actually was quite easy to make and required very little skill...@ the time. The only thing that was important was IMAGE and I lapped it up like a sick lil' nightclubbing puppy.

Here's a stab into the future, put down on wax, radically transferred in digital
for your own personal ultraviolence:  download