Thursday, April 3, 2014

Short Stuff - Short Stuff (LP / 1976)

01)  If Bad Luck Were Money                                   3:50
02)  This Time I Got You                                             3:01
03)  Main Lady                                                            3:18
04)  Every Day I Learn Something New                   4:14
05)  Always There                                                       3:14
06)  Let’s Straighten it Out                                       4:29
07)  One Of These Days                                              3:02
08)  Sloppy Drunk                                                       1:17
09)  I Made A Mistake                                               2;56
10)  The Disco Kid                                                       3:46
11)  Coda Kid                                                               1:40

My last post involved some classic Milwaukee 80's AOR. I'd like to follow that up with a superb slice of 70's Blues Rock, actually 1976, from the same scene. This is a FAR trip from what I normally post. It actually was a side project for my local Postal carrier who was looking for a quality digital transfer of the LP. I decided to take it on and put this LP on the blog as well. This is the infamous Jim Liban and his blues rock with a good dose of harmonica and low cool. It's certain to please my 'Blues Rock' friends and anyone else searching for this on the net. All art & recordings are taken directly from the original LP.
Short Stuff: Jim Liban  

(REPOST) V/A - 93 QFM Hometown Album Project No. 2 (2 LP / 1982)


I've decided to finally finish up recording the remainder of this 93 WQFM Milwaukee Radio Sampler from 1982. I originally posted the 1st side of LP 1 back in 2010 SSBLOG 9/3/2010.  I re-edited my previous recordings and have fully adjusted all the tracks for volume, noise, pops & clicks. Quite a bit of time was taken to fix the tracks, as the records were in good condition, but were pressed on flimsy yellow vinyl. I've photographed and scanned all the artwork from the original LP, plus the bonus flyers that were included along with additional scans of 93QFM Bumper Stickers from the past. I'm missing one flyer that was part of this set. It was a promo flyer for the then upcoming 1983 Summerfest Event that takes place on the shores of Lake Michigan in downtown Milwaukee.
A Classic Mixed Bag Of Midwest 80's AOR: 93WQFM (Milwaukee)

Tuesday, April 1, 2014

Final Cut - I Told You Not To Stop - She Destroys (US 12 Inch / 1990)

01) I Told You Not To Stop (In Tight Connelly Mix) 6:53
02) I Told You Not To Stop (Version Fusion Mix) 4:33
03) I Told You Not To Stop (LP Mix) 5:32
04) She Destroys (Hilltop Mix) 8:44
05) She Destroys (Vocal Vision) 4:18

Art & all recordings are taken from this 12 inch.
I Told You Not To Stop: Now Let's Go!

Thursday, March 27, 2014

Die Warzau - Strike To The Body (US 12 Inch / 1990)

01) Strike To The Body (Lil Louis Body Blow Mix) 7:06
02) Strike To The Body (Ampalang Mix) 5:28
03) Strike To The Body (LP Mix) 3:48
04) Strike To The Body (Modification Mix) 6:13
05) Strike To The Body (Lil Louis Body Blow Vocal Mix) 3:46
06) Jackhammer (Remix) 6:11

Thanks to Anthony Perez for providing this 12 inch.
All recordings and art are directly taken from the vinyl.
Strike To The: Body

Sunday, February 23, 2014

Toni Halliday (Curve) - Time Turns Around (Special Version UK 12 Inch / 1989)

01) Time Turns Around (Euro-Tech Version) 7:30
02) Time Turns Around (7 Inch Mix) 3:34
03) Dull Man 4:27

Thanks to my friend and blog follower, Steen Jensen, for providing me with this release.
All recordings and art are from this import record.
Time Turns: Around

Wednesday, February 19, 2014

Eon - Inner Mind / Spice (Import CDS / 1991)

01) Inner Mind (Deep Thought Mix) 4:30
02) Spice (Morbid vs. The Baron Mix) 5:39
03) Inner Mind (Freebass Mind) 6:04
04) Spice (Original Mix With Notes) 5:50

We Will Control All That You See And Hear: From The Inner Mind

Tuesday, February 18, 2014

Eon - Fear (The Mindkiller) (UK CDS / 1991)

01) - 02) Fear (Prologue) - Fear (Original Mix With Bats) 5:43
03) B Cool #1 (8 A.M. Mix) 4:01
04) Fear (Mr. Raucous Mix) 4:51

I Must Not Fear. Fear Is The: Mindkiller

Indicate - The Latest Idea (German Import 12 Inch / 1989)

01) The Latest Idea 6:12
02) Gemutlichkeit 5:40
03) No Bailes 6:31

Back in 1989, most of the music I was listening to was from the west, particularly Germany. Technodrome International, ZYX and many other labels to numerous to name, were on the cutting edge of the electronic underground sound. This 12 inch is a fine example. It includes some awesome samples from 'Friday The 13th' and a few other movies. It was a record that took me some time to find and now I see it is quite expensive on the site Discogs
All art and recordings are taken from the 12 inch.
It's Only Been A Few Hours Since I've Translated And Spoken Aloud, The First Of The Demon Resurrection Passages From The Book Of The Dead: Idea

Monday, February 10, 2014

Die Warzau - Welcome To America (US & UK 12 Inch / 1989)

01) Welcome To America (Edit) 4:19
02) Welcome To America (Remix) 5:47
03) Welcome To America (Hip Hop Mix) 5:14
04) Welcome To America (Hip Hop Dub) 2:43
05) Welcome To America (LP Mix) 4:54

Back in 1989, the world of Industrial music revolved heavily around Nine Inch Nails, Front 242 and other Wax Trax! labelmates, along with Skinny Puppy and a block full of sound-alikes. Die Warzau had a standout moment with this 12 inch. Mixing guitar, synths, saxophone and a rap style vocal attack, 'Welcome To America' would go on into heavy rotation at the underground clubs. I remember hearing it for the first time and thinking, what a a mix of sounds! By the time the track was over, I was on a mission to buy it. You'll find that this song works quite well with the NIN track 'Down In It' which ironically, was released about the same time as this.
Thanks to Anthony P. for the suggestion and for future blog possibilities!
This Is 1989...You Feel It: Welcome To America

Thursday, February 6, 2014

Herb Alpert - Rise (US 12 Inch / 1979)


01) Rise (100 BPM) 7:32
02) Aranjuez (Mon Amour) (130 BPM) 6:03

I recently found this 12 inch at my local Goodwill in a box full of library rental toss aways. Not in bad shape, well the record at least. The jacket and labels needed extra time in photoshop. I always loved this slow cooker of a track. It is widely used nowadays with the DJ's who play that chilled out, poolside, daytime disco vibe. It fit's in just fine with the blogsite AOR Disco. All art and recordings are from the original vinyl
Put on your Foster Grants, Docksides and grab a Pina Colada! It's Time To: Rise